Our network includes 5 higher education institutions and 11 colleges from across Scotland.

About SDTN

The Scottish Drama Training Network (SDTN) is a unique organisation based at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in Glasgow. A Scottish Funding Council initiative, we were set up in 2009 to offer support and enhancement opportunities to Scotland’s colleges and higher education institutions who offer full-time courses that train people for a career in television, film, theatre or radio.

SDTN is a network organisation of 12 colleges and 5 higher education institutions, who all provide training in at least one of the following; Acting, Contemporary Performance Practice, Musical Theatre, Technical Theatre, Film, Television or Radio from NQ to postgraduate level.

We work with skills agencies, the theatre, film, television and radio industries, tutors, students, curriculum leaders and supporters across the country to develop practice-based drama training. We act as an interface for the sector, bringing people together in order to support the next generation of talent and Scotland’s creative and cultural sector.

Network institutions:

Higher Education

  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • Queen Margaret University
  • Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
  • Sabhal Mòr Ostaig
  • University of the West of Scotland


  • Ayrshire College
  • City of Glasgow College
  • Dundee and Angus College
  • Edinburgh College
  • Fife College
  • Glasgow Clyde College
  • Glasgow Kelvin College
  • Inverness College UHI
  • New College Lanarkshire
  • North East Scotland College
  • Perth College UHI
  • West College Scotland

Our mission is to work with education and industry to support the development of publicly funded practice-based drama provision in Scotland.


Sign Up for our newsletter